A very interesting project

Having recently blogged about my purchase (OK, pre-order) of a model steam loco which I didn’t know I wanted here is a project which is of no interest at all to me. It’s the wrong scale (it’s N, I model OO), it’s the wrong era (it’s current, I model the 1970s) and I don’t even like the train they are modelling.

But it is a project I am following very closely!

Rapido-Virgin

Why? Well it’s because it is a “kick-starter” scheme, something new to the UK model railway scene. In essence rather than a manufacturer deciding to make a model, designing it, making it and then selling it through retailers, with a kick-starter any one interested pledges to buy 1 (or more) and if sufficient funds are raised the organisers go to their chosen manufacturer and say “make X thousand of these for us”.

If successful it could start a whole new direction for the hobby, opening up a whole new way of getting the models we want. I hope it succeeds.

To find out more, click here.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: 2014

Leave a Reply

